PDA

View Full Version : Another Question



Akryllic Love
07-01-2009, 10:42 PM
What am I doing wrong? When I'm recording my tracks never stay in sync with each other. It's not human error. I know I am recording in sync with the first track, but when I play it back it slowly becomes out of sync. Like, it sounds fine at first, but after about 45 seconds it's complete chaos (and not in the good way)! was goin' on!?

drumsandfire
07-01-2009, 11:09 PM
what are you using to record?

Akryllic Love
07-02-2009, 12:16 AM
Audacity

plex
07-02-2009, 12:44 AM
Audacity is fickle. Make sure you have the newest version.

Freemdoom
07-02-2009, 12:56 AM
thats the problem, audacity is bad like that, use audition

emmi_i
07-02-2009, 01:24 AM
if your computer is running fairly full, that can cause errors in the recording process in audacity, that might be your problem. have you listened to the tracks individually for little skips? it's possible (although time consuming, and well generally frustrating) to go through the tracks and delete the small time lapses. (also, it gets fickle if there are like, more than 20 tracks sometimes)

and make sure you have the most recent version. in terms of cost Vs. ease of use audacity is the best I've found.

Mutineer
07-02-2009, 04:52 AM
Yeah fuck everyone, Audacity rules.

The problem is probably that you have too many tracks going on at once and not enough RAM for your computer to be able to run them all.

lenn9o9n
07-02-2009, 09:55 AM
mutineer is probably right. ram is a KILLER when it comes to overdubs

i've always used acidpro on pc and now have gone into a heaven of midi jam packs on garageband

haven't had issues with synicing since i had like half a gb on my pc 3 years ago. now have 4gb on my mac and no compaints.

Mutineer
07-02-2009, 10:09 AM
Yeah I only have like a half gig of memory on my recording computer and have to export it to a wav and record over that every 12 or so tracks. It's pretty obnoxious, but at least it's an effective way of squeezing everything you need into the recording.

Abel
07-02-2009, 10:15 AM
I use Audacity and although it hasn't done this in a long time, if the tracks are never in sync I just move them so that they are. Woop woop fixed.

lucyisabanana
07-02-2009, 11:22 AM
I wish people would stop using Audacity. It is pretty awful. Just download Reaper. It's free, too and it's a million times better. ONE MILLION TIMES.

Akryllic Love
07-02-2009, 11:23 AM
I just recorded a second track and it went out of sync, so it's not that I'm recording too many tracks. I'll make sure to get the latest version

full bloom
07-02-2009, 11:30 AM
why you dead AL?

Akryllic Love
07-02-2009, 11:32 AM
dead?

full bloom
07-02-2009, 11:36 AM
thats what your mood says.

Akryllic Love
07-02-2009, 11:38 AM
ohh I see...
what should I change it to?

full bloom
07-02-2009, 11:39 AM
lol i dont know
anything you want! i keep mine on shocked cuz the dude looks funny

Akryllic Love
07-02-2009, 11:56 AM
I changed mine to scared

Mutineer
07-02-2009, 11:59 AM
I wish people would stop using Audacity. It is pretty awful. Just download Reaper. It's free, too and it's a million times better. ONE MILLION TIMES.

Hey!

F
U
C
K
Y
O
U
!

full bloom
07-02-2009, 12:59 PM
I changed mine to scared

hahahahahaha that face is hilarious